Skip navigation

Prof. Dr. Petra Reinke

Petra Reinke is a nephrologist and specialist in transplantation medicine. She has led the Immunology research field and the GMP facility at the BCRT since 2006, and is a member of BCRT steering committee. Since 2007 she is also a member of the steering committee of the Berlin-Brandenburg School for Regenerative Therapies (BSRT). Petra Reinke's scientific work deals with the immunological processes and reactions that take place during and after transplantation.



  • 1990: Habilitation in Nephrology, Humboldt University Berlin
  • 1990: Subspecialization Nephrology
  • 1982: Specialization in Internal Medicine
  • 1979: Doctoral degree in Microbiology, Humboldt University Berlin
  • 1976: Licence to practice medicine

Professional History

  • Since 2006: Head of the Immunology research field at the BCRT and head of the GMP facility
  • 2000: Professor of Nephrology, Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin
  • Since 1995: Head of the Transplant Program and the Kidney Transplant Outpatient Clinic, Division of Nephrology and Internal Intensive Care Medicine, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Awards & Honors

  • 1990: Rudolf Virchow Award
  • 1993/96/98: Young Investigator Award of the American Transplant Society

Memberships and Editorships

  • German Society of Nephrolgoy
  • German Society of Internal Medicine
  • German Transplantation Society
  • New York Academy of Sciences
  • European Renal Association-European Dialysis and Transplant Association (ERA-EDTA)
  • American Society of Nephrology (ASN)
  • European Society for Organ Transplantation (ESOT)
  • The Transplantation Society (TTS)
  • Honorary member of the Working Group on Kidney Transplantation of the Academy of German Urologists
  • Editorial Board Member (since 2012), Co-Editor (2004-2011), Transplant Infectious Disease
  • Editorial Board Member, Transplantation
  • Reviewer Nature, Science, AJT, JASN, NDT and others
  • Editorial Board Member, Transplantation Technology
  • Member of the committee for recommendations in infectious disease of the ATC 2000-2005
  • German Science Foundation reviewer